Symposia and Symposium Organizers


PAST-PRESIDENTíS SYMPOSIUM
"New Frontiers in Botany" (half-day; Monday, 8-10 am). Organizer: Carol C. Baskin, School of Biological Sciences, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY 40506-0225. Tele: (606) 257-8770, Fax: (606) 257-1717, E-mail: <ccbask0@pop.uky.edu>.

DEVELOPMENTAL AND STRUCTURAL SECTION
"Open Space" (half-day). Organizer: Bruce Kirchoff, Department of Biology, University of North Carolina, P.O. Box 26174, Greensboro, NC 27402-1674. Tele: (336) 334-5391 (ext. 37), E-mail: <kirchoff@uncg.edu>.

HISTORICAL SECTION
"Botany in the Age of Mendel: A Symposium in Honor of the Centennial of the Rediscovery of Mendel, and the 50th Year Anniversary of the Publication of G. L. Stebbins' Variation and Evolution in Plants" (half-day). Organizer: Vassiliki Betty Smocovitis, Department of History, 4131 Turlington Hall, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL 32611-7320. Tele: (352) 392-0271, Fax: (352) 392-6927, E-mail: <bsmocovi@history.ufl.edu>.

PTERIDOLOGY SECTION-AMERICAN FERN SOCIETY (AFS)
"Biology and Conservation of the Ophioglossaceae" (full-day). Organizers: Cindy Johnson-Groh, Department of Biology, Gustavus-Adolphus College, 800 West College Ave., St. Peter, MN 56082-1498. Tele: (507) 933-7043, Fax: (507) 933-6285, E-mail: <cjgroh@gac.edu>, Donald R. Farrar, Department of Botany, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011. Tele: (515) 294-4846, Fax: (515) 294-1337, E-mail: <dfarrar@iastate.edu> & Warren D. Hauk, Department of Biology, Denison University, Granville, OH 43023. E-mail: <Hauk@cc.denison.edu>.

SYSTEMATICS SECTION-ASPT
"Historical biogeography of the Northern Hemisphere" (half-day). Organizers: Paul S. Manos, Department of Botany, Duke University, Box 90338, Durham, NC 27708-0338. Tele: (919) 660-7358, Fax: (919) 660-7293, E-mail: <pmanos@duke.edu> & Michael J. Donoghue, Harvard University Herbaria, 22 Divinity Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138. Tele: (617) 496-3374, Fax: (617) 495-9484, E-mail: <mdonoghue@oeb.harvard.edu>

SYSTEMATICS SECTION-ASPT-IAPT
"New frontiers in plant systematics - The next 50 years" (half-day). Organizers: Tod Stuessy, Institut für Botanik, Universität Wien, Rennweg 14, Vienna, A-1030, Austria. Tele: 43-1-4277-54140, Fax: 43-1-4277-9541, E-mail: <tod.stuessy@univie.ac.at> & Wayne Elisens, Department of Botany & Microbiology, 770 Van Vleet Oval, University of Oklahoma, Norman, OK 73019. Tele: (405) 325-5923, Fax: (405) 325-7619, E-mail: <elisens@ou.edu>

SEVERAL BSA SECTIONS-ASPT-ABLS-AFS
"Scientific outreach for the next millennium" (half-day). Organizer: Andrea D. Wolfe, Department of Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology, The Ohio State University, 1735 Neil Ave., Columbus, OH 43210-1293. Tele: (614) 292-0267, Fax: (614) 292-2030, E-mail: <wolfe.205@osu.edu>.

TEACHING SECTION
"Using Educational Technology to Foster Learning Centered Pedagogies" (half-day). Organizers: Donald P. Buckley, Office of Instructional Technology, School of Health Sciences, Quinnipiac College, 275 Mt. Carmel Ave., Hamden, CT 06518-1940. Tele: (203), 287-3467, Fax: (203) 281-8706, E-mail: <Don.Buckley@quinnipiac.edu> & David W. Kramer, Department of Evolution, Ecology, and Organismal Biology, Ohio State University at Mansfield, 1680 University Dr., Mansfield, OH 44906-1547. Tele: (419) 755-4344, Fax: (419) 755-4367, E-mail: <kramer.8@osu.edu>.